Panic Mode

Posted: August 2, 2012 in panic
Tags: ,

I knew it was going to happen at some point, but I started to hit panic mode today.  I’ve seen these symptoms before, at the end of the school year– the lethargy around luggage and the willingness to space out in front of facebook (or the Olympics) just to not think of the fact that life is changing again, and the anxiety of the impending date.  It’s the one-two punch of comfortability and doubt- an attack I hope this year will help train me against.

  • On being comfortable: It’s not a bad feeling, until you don’t want to stretch yourself.  Once comfort turns to sloth, it’s bad news.  Thankfully, I have some wonderful people in my life now, and will have more very shortly, who challenge me to grow.
  • On doubt: It comes out of a fear of failure.  Failure itself isn’t talked about much, but it happens to everyone (more often than we would like to admit).  In my mind, a true failure is something we don’t learn from.

So, as I reognize and move past these feelings into the great beyond that is my JV year, I keep in mind the doubt Jeremiah had starting his mission.

[Jeremiah 1:6-8]:

“‘Ah, Lord God!’ I said, ‘I do not know how to speak. I am too young!’  But the Lord answered me, Do not say, ‘I am too young.’ To whomever I send you, you shall go; whatever I command you, you shall speak.  Do not be afraid of them, for I am with you to deliver you– oracle of the Lord.”

Leave a Reply

