Peace Be the Journey

Posted: August 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

Dear Family, Friends, Mentors, and Sponsors,

Today I embark on an incredible journey.  After months of talking about doing JVC “next year”, it’s finally here.  Today starts my future, my next step.  Accepting this role has in some ways been easy.  My heart was on fire as I interviewed for my placement as a youth minister.  In other ways, it has been the toughest decision I have ever made.  I will be farther west than I have even been– much further than the twin cities or the “Gateway to the West.”  I will be states away from my family.  However, I have the incredible opportunity to explore a possible vocation, take the time to learn about myself, and focus on the four core values of the Jesuit Volunteer Corps (http://www.jesuitvolunteers.org/about-jvc/jvc-is/mission-and-values).

I am incredibly thankful for all of your thoughts, prayers, and support so far in my journey.  Be assured that I have been, and will continue to, pray for you throughout my time as a JV.  It’s going to be a special and transformational year.  I’m glad that, in some way, you can be a part of it.

With much love and gratitude,

Jon

[Joshua 1:9]:

I command you: be strong and steadfast! Do not fear or be dismayed, for the Lord, your God, is with you wherever you go.

Leave a Reply

