Our Lady of Dolores

Posted: September 17, 2012 in feasts/celebrations, spanish

Our Mother

[Picture: Mary at Orientation]

Written on 9/14

Hail Mary, full of sorrows, the Crucified is with thee, distressed are you among women and pained is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of the Crucified: give  tears to us who have crucified Your Son, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Tomorrow is the  feast day of Our Lady of Sorrows (The feast day of my Church).  As we come together to honor it, it is good to be reminded that we are united with Mary in our sorrows both big and small.

This week has been good, but not without its struggles.  Youth group was assigned to help out with one of the novenas this week, and I was excited to get a few of the kids involved and in front of the community as they brought them together in prayer.  It didn’t play out how I wanted or expected, however, when a few kids backed out at the last second saying that they didn’t want to do it.  Well, someone had to. Thankfully, a go-to emerging leader in the group took on the responsibilty of brining the cramped room of mostly women into prayer and reading the first dolor (sorrow).  My co-leader in youth group agreed to take on the third dolor. That left me with the second.  So, intimidated by the speed and fervor that the group prayed with (lightning-speed Padre Nuestras and furious crossings during the Glory Be) with 45 or so older Hispanic women as my witnesses I stood up and stumbled through the second sorrow in Spanish. A few folks told me I was shaking during my recitation.  All I know is that my tongue gets very confused and I stutter a bit when speaking espanol in front of a group.

Madre Dolorosa
Escudo de los afligidos
Reina del cielo
Ruega por nosotros

 

 

Leave a Reply

