Sundays (Part 2)

Posted: September 25, 2012 in gratitude, language, love, spanish, spirituality

Our new parish gate including the Jesuit seal

Sundays have quickly become one of my favorite days of the week and I owe it all to the community where I love, work, and pray.  From the very first 9am mass I went to at Dolores Mission, I could see and feel the connection people had with each other.  It was a visible connection and manifestation of God’s love– something that at times I forget about.  As the entire community stood joining hands for the Our Father, the pastor in the middle, we held on as praying for peace in our world, in our community, and in our hearts, I was shaken up by grace.  I was shaken up by the experience. Honest to goodness, the rawness of this moment left me fighting back tears.  The sign of peace didn’t help me either.  Folks came from all corners of the Church in order to embrace me and my casamates.  Later we were drenched in holy water and given a round of applause. All throughout, songs reminding me of past festivals of praise were sprinkled in.  And, if that weren’t enough, the community processed out to the plaza to eat some wonderful Mexican food and talk with more community members.  The best thing?  It’s like this most Sundays. By the time I get done scarfing down enchilladas, menudos, or tacos de papas and make the short trek back home, it’ll be close to noon.

As a youth minister, each week I get to meet with the Ecclesial team to discuss how last Sunday went and to look at what stands out to us in next week’s readings.  A few weeks back one of my favorite readings came up.  It’s the one where Jesus heals the deaf and mute man.  I started enjoying it after writing a piece on the Ignatian idea of discernment and how Jesus’ word to the man, ephphatha (“be opened”), can be a lens through which we can think about looking at choosing between the many goods in our life.  The beauty of working in a bilingual parish, however, is that in these meetings, we look at both translations.  Ephphatha in the Spanish reading was ábrete. Although similarly translated, there is a distinction between ephphatha and ábrete, between the passive “be opened” and the active “you, open yourself.” One of the Jesuits picked up on this and ran with the idea.  His homily was a passionate one: Jesus invites us to open ourselves to new opportunities, to new ways of service, but we must be willing to look at the ways in which we are closed off.  Our obstacles, our brokenness.  We need the strength to examine these, except them, and find ways to make them work with what we do.

I know I left inspired.

Leave a Reply

